Ryder Cup: Full list of winners from each year

Ryder Cup: Full list of winners from each year
Please Share

The Ryder Cup has been held since 1927 and the 44th edition took place this year at Marco Simone Golf & Country Club outside of Rome, Italy, with Europe winning, 16.5-11.5.

The matches have undergone changes throughout the years. It began as the U.S. vs. Great Britain, but then involved Ireland, from 1973-77. For the ’79 matches, all from continental Europe were eligible to compete for Team Europe.

The biennial competition was not contested from 1939-45, because of World War II. The 2001 matches were postponed to ’02, because of the 9/11 attacks in the U.S. And the 2020 edition was moved to ’21, because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Here are the winners from the first 44 cups:

Year Winner Score Venue U.S. capt. Euro capt.
2023 Europe 16.5-11.5 Marco Simone (Italy) Zach Johnson Luke Donald
2021 USA 19-9 Whistling Straits (Wisconsin) Steve Stricker Padraig Harrington
2018 Europe 17.5-10.5 Le Golf National (France) Jim Furyk Thomas Bjorn
2016 USA 17-11 Hazeltine National Golf Club (Minnesota) Davis Love III Darren Clarke
2014 Europe 16.5-11.5 Gleneagles Hotel (Scotland) Tom Watson Paul McGinley
2012 Europe 14.5-13.5 Medinah Country Club (Illinois) Davis Love III Jose Maria Olazabal
2010 Europe 14.5-13.5 Celtic Manor Resort (Wales) Corey Pavin Colin Montgomerie
2008 USA 16.5-11.5 Valhalla Golf Club (Kentucky) Paul Azinger Nick Faldo
2006 Europe 18.5-9.5 K Club (Ireland) Tom Lehman Ian Woosnam
2004 Europe 18.5-9.5 Oakland Hills Country Club (Michigan) Hal Sutton Bernhard Langer
2002 Europe 15.5-12.5 The Belfry (England) Curtis Strange Sam Torrance
1999 USA 14.5-13.5 The Country Club (Massachusetts) Ben Crenshaw Mark James
1997 Europe 14.5-13.5 Valderrama Golf Club (Spain) Tom Kite Seve Ballesteros
1995 Europe 14.5-13.5 Oak Hill Country Club (New York) Lanny Wadkins Bernard Gallacher
1993 USA 15-13 The Belfry (England) Tom Watson Bernard Gallacher
1991 USA 14.5-13.5 Kiawah Island Golf Resort (South Carolina) Dave Stockton Bernard Gallacher
1989 Tied (Europe retains) 14-14 The Belfry (England) Raymond Floyd Tony Jacklin
1987 Europe 15-13 Muirfield Village (Ohio) Jack Nicklaus Tony Jacklin
1985 Europe 16.5-11.5 The Belfry (England) Lee Trevino Tony Jacklin
1983 USA 14.5-13.5 PGA National Golf Club (Florida) Jack Nicklaus Tony Jacklin
1981 USA 18.5-9.5 Walton Heath Golf Club (England) Dave Marr John Jacobs
1979 USA 17-11 The Greenbrier (West Virginia) Billy Casper John Jacobs
1977 USA 12.5-7.5 Royal Lytham & St Annes (England) Dow Finsterwald Brian Huggett
1975 USA 21-11 Laurel Valley Golf Club (Pennsylvania) Arnold Palmer Bernard Hunt
1973 USA 19-13 Muirfield (Scotland) Jack Burke Jr. Bernard Hunt
1971 USA 18.5-13.5 Old Warson Country Club (Missouri) Jay Hebert Eric Brown
1969 Tied (USA retains) 16-16 Royal Birkdale Golf Club (England) Sam Snead Eric Brown
1967 USA 23.5-8.5 Champions Golf Club (Texas) Ben Hogan Dai Rees
1965 USA 19.5-12.5 Royal Birkdale Golf Club (England) Byron Nelson Harry Weetman
1963 USA 23-9 Atlanta Athletic Club (Georgia) Arnold Palmer John Fallon
1961 USA 14.5-9.5 Royal Lytham & St Annes (England) Jerry Barber Dai Rees
1959 USA 8.5-3.5 Eldorado Country Club (California) Sam Snead Dai Rees
1957 Great Britain 7.5-4.5 Lindrick Golf Club (England) Jack Burke Jr. Dai Rees
1955 USA 8-4 Thunderbird Country Club (California) Chick Harbert Dai Rees
1953 USA 6.5-5.5 Wentworth Club (England) Lloyd Mangrum Henry Cotton
1951 USA 9.5-2.5 Pinehurst Resort, No. 2 (North Carolina) Sam Snead Arthur Lacey
1949 USA 7-5 Ganton Golf Club (England) Ben Hogan Charles Whitcombe
1947 USA 11-1 Portland Golf Club (Oregon) Ben Hogan Henry Cotton
1937 USA 8-4 Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club (England) Walter Hagen Charles Whitcombe
1935 USA 9-3 Ridgewood Country Club (New Jersey) Walter Hagen Charles Whitcombe
1933 Great Britain 6.5-5.5 Southport and Ainsdale Golf Club (England) Walter Hagen John Henry Taylor
1931 USA 9-3 Scioto Country Club (Ohio) Walter Hagen Charles Whitcombe
1929 Great Britain 7-5 Moortown Golf Club (England) Walter Hagen George Duncan
1927 USA 9.5-2.5 Worcester Country Club (Massachusetts) Walter Hagen Ted Ray

Source link