Spieth tabbed to serve out remainder of McIlroy’s term on Tour board

Spieth tabbed to serve out remainder of McIlroy’s term on Tour board
Please Share

A week after Rory McIlroy resigned from the PGA Tour’s policy board, he has been replaced by Jordan Spieth.

The remaining five player directors on the board – Tiger Woods, Patrick Cantlay, Charley Hoffman, Peter Malnati and Webb Simpson – voted for Spieth to serve out the remainder of McIlroy’s term, which runs through next year.

“Jordan has extensive experience with the Tour’s governance process, having served two years on the Player Advisory Council (2017-18) including PAC chairman in 2018 and three years (2019-21) as a player director,” commissioner Jay Monahan wrote in a memo to players Monday morning.

The policy board held its final meeting of the year last Monday, and McIlroy informed the Tour shortly afterward of his resignation.

“Something had to give,” McIlroy told reporters last week at the European tour finale. “There are only so many hours in a day and only so many days in a week. I’ve got a lot going on in my life right now between trying to be a world-class golfer and trying to be a good husband and a good father. I’ve got a growing investment portfolio that is taking up more of my time. I’m involved with TGL and sort of in the weeds with that. On top of all that, the policy board stuff was taking more of my time than ever this year. I just felt something had to give.”

Current PAC chairman Adam Scott will replace Hoffman on the policy board next year as the Tour continues to negotiate with Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund and other private equity offers to create a new, for-profit entity.

Source link